top of page
Wer wir sind
Erin Brewer

Erin Brewer

Erin Brewer is co-founder of Advocates Protecting Children & the Compassion Coalition. She holds a MS and PhD in instructional technology and learning science, and is a former "trans kid" who was helped back to reality by talk therapy, which is being banned in many states. She lives in Utah (USA).

Eileen Christian

Eileen Christian

Eileen Christian is a wife and mother, and has been a real estate attorney for more than 35 years. As a member of her parish pro-life ministry team, she is focused on educating teen girls about their God-given worth, dignity, and feminine genius. In her work with teen girls, Eileen has seen firsthand their growing confusion resulting from the deceptions of gender ideology which has taken hold in our schools and community institutions. Eileen lives in Coatesville, PA.

Dr. Michelle Cretella

Dr. Michelle Cretella

Dr. Michelle Cretella is pediatrician, writer, and speaker. She is the past executive director of the American College of Pediatricians and present co-chair of its Adolescent Sexuality Council. She is also a spokesperson for the Catholic Medical Association, a member of Association for American Surgeons & Physicians, and a consultant to the Rhode Island Family Institute. Dr. Cretella and her husband have four grown children.

Maria Keffler

Maria Keffler

Maria Keffler is a co-founder of Advocates Protecting Children, and (formerly) Partners for Ethical Care and the Arlington Parent Coalition (Virginia). An author, speaker, and teacher with a background in educational psychology, Ms. Keffler has fought to support families and protect children from unethical activism and dangerous policies around sexuality and transgender ideology since 2018. She lives in Arlington, Virginia (USA).

Advocates Protecting Children (im Folgenden „Advocates“) ist eine gemeinnützige (501c3) Organisation, die sich dem Kampf gegen die Gender-Industrie verschrieben hat, und insbesondere gegen ihre Plünderung von Kindern in Form von unethischen sozialen und medizinischen Übergängen zum Zwecke des politischen und finanziellen Profits. Wir dienen und unterstützen Kirchen, Schulen, Organisationen, Familien und Einzelpersonen, die nach Fakten und Anleitungen zum Umgang mit Gender-Ideologie und -Aktivismus suchen.

Das Team von Advocates Protecting Children besteht aus Müttern und Lehrern. Wir haben acht Kinder im Alter von 14 bis 32 Jahren und wir haben gerade unser erstes Enkelkind in der Advocates-Familie begrüßt! Wir praktizieren anglikanische, methodistische und nichtkonfessionelle Christen. Wir haben BA-Abschlüsse in Bildung, professionellem Schreiben und Kommunikation sowie einen BS in Kognitionswissenschaft; MS-Abschlüsse in Pädagogik und Pädagogischer Psychologie; und einen Ph.D. in Unterrichtstechnologie und Lernwissenschaft.  Zusammen haben wir über 70 Jahre Unterrichtserfahrung, die von der Vorschule bis zum Erwachsenenunterricht, von der Hausschule über die Privatschule bis zur öffentlichen Schule reicht, und wir teilen 80 Jahre Erfahrung als Eltern.

Wir glauben:
 

  • Es gibt kein „echtes Transgender“ und insbesondere kein Transgender-Kind. Menschen, die mit ihrem Gefühl der persönlichen Geschlechtsidentifikation zu kämpfen haben, leiden an Geschlechtsdysphorie, im DSM-V früher als Geschlechtsidentitätsstörung bezeichnet, bevor politische Aktivisten Druck auf das medizinische Establishment ausübten, das zu depathologisieren und zu normalisieren, was von Natur aus ein psychologischer Zustand ist.
     

  • Sex ist binär; es ist weder tertiär noch auf einem Kontinuum. Menschen werden basierend auf ihren Chromosomen, Fortpflanzungsfunktion, Geschlechtszellen und sekundären Geschlechtsmerkmalen wie Genitalien als weiblich oder männlich kategorisiert. Für die Fortpflanzung ist kein dritter Typ von geschlechtsspezifischer Person notwendig und existiert auch nicht.
     

  • Intersexuelle Menschen oder Menschen mit einer Störung der sexuellen Entwicklung machen einen sehr kleinen Prozentsatz der Bevölkerung aus und sind weder repräsentativ noch Beweis für Geschlecht oder Geschlechtervielfalt noch ein Kontinuum von Geschlecht oder Geschlecht. Störungen der sexuellen Entwicklung sind, wie der Name schon sagt, Störungen, die anderen Zuständen ähnlich sind, bei denen etwas in der Entwicklung schief gelaufen ist, wie Mukoviszidose, körperliche Geburtsfehler, Down-Syndrom usw.
     

  • Begriffe wie „transphob“, „TERF“ und „truscum“ sind beleidigende Wörter und Beleidigungen, die verwendet werden, um jeden zum Schweigen zu bringen und zu verleumden, der von den Grundsätzen der Gender-Ideologie abweicht. Wir verwenden weder diese noch ähnliche Begriffe, noch unterstützen wir diejenigen, die dies tun.
     

  • Der Begriff Geschlecht ist bedeutungslos, und bis der unethische, missbräuchliche und lange diskreditierte Psychologe John Money ihn in den 1960er Jahren zum ersten Mal auf Menschen anwendete, gehörte Geschlecht nur zum Bereich der Linguistik. Während Gender auf Dokumenten wie Geburtsurkunden und Führerscheinen synonym mit Sex verwendet wurde, wird Gender heute als inneres Geschlechtsempfinden (Männlichkeit/Weiblichkeit) neu definiert. Befürworter verstehen, dass das, was die Gender-Industrie als Geschlecht bezeichnet, besser als Persönlichkeit identifiziert werden kann, die individuell und persönlich ist und in keiner Beziehung oder Unterwürfigkeit zum eigenen physischen Geschlecht steht.
     

  • Die Gender-Ideologie basiert ausschließlich auf regressiven Geschlechterrollenstereotypen wie „Jungs spielen mit Trucks“ und „Mädchen mögen Pink“. Früher wurde den Kindern zum Beispiel beigebracht, dass man als Junge Sport mögen und treiben muss, und wenn man ein Mädchen ist, muss sie gerne kochen und Haus spielen. Heute hat die Gender-Industrie diese ohnehin schon inakzeptable Schubladeneinteilung auf den Kopf gestellt und eine noch schlimmere Situation geschaffen. Jetzt wird Kindern gesagt, dass ein Mädchen, wenn es Sport mag und treibt, innerlich ein Junge sein muss, und wenn ein Junge gerne kocht und Haus spielt, ist er eigentlich ein Mädchen, das im Körper eines Jungen geboren wurde. Befürworter sind mit dieser Art von Etiketten nicht einverstanden. Ebenso messen wir dem Begriff „nicht geschlechtsspezifisch“ keinen hohen Stellenwert bei, da er davon ausgeht, dass bestimmte Eigenschaften und Vorlieben existieren, die repräsentativ für Frauen sind, und andere, die repräsentativ für Männer sind. Wir ziehen es vor, dass allen Menschen unabhängig von ihrer Geschlechtskategorie die Freiheit gegeben wird, sich und ihre Talente/Vorlieben auszudrücken.
     

  • „Konversionstherapie“-Verbote werden falsch benannt, um den Gesetzgeber und die Öffentlichkeit zu täuschen. Diese Verbote hindern Therapeuten und Betreuer daran, etwas anderes zu tun, als der falschen Überzeugung einer geschlechtsdysphorischen Person zuzustimmen, dass sie „im falschen Körper geboren“ wurde, und sie dazu zu drängen Medikalisierung. Es sollte nicht nur eine Behandlung für jede einzelne Person erlaubt sein, die an Geschlechtsdysphorie leidet. Jede Person ist ein Individuum und sollte die Pflege und Therapie erhalten, die für sie oder ihn am besten geeignet ist, einschließlich, aber nicht beschränkt auf Gespräche und Verhalten Therapien.
     

  • Eine genaue Kategorisierung des Geschlechts ist von größter Bedeutung für eine angemessene medizinische Behandlung, um die Rechte und den Schutz von Frauen und Mädchen zu wahren und um aussagekräftige demografische Daten zu sammeln. Die Selbstidentifikation des Transgender-Status ist unethisch, gefährlich und muss gestoppt werden.
     

  • Wissenschaft und Forschung unterstützen eine geschlechterkritische Haltung zur Geschlechterideologie.
     

Ö   Die World Professional Association on Transgender Health stimmt zu, dass Untersuchungen zeigen, dass 74-92 % der Kinder sich ihrem Geburtsgeschlecht anpassen, wenn sie die Pubertät auf natürliche Weise durchlaufen.


Ö   Eine 30-jährige Längsschnittstudie aus Schweden, einem der LGB- und TQ-freundlichsten Länder der Welt, zeigt, dass das Wohlbefinden des Einzelnen nach der Geschlechtsumwandlung miserabel ist, wobei die Wahrscheinlichkeit einer Bindung bei den Probanden 19-mal höher ist als bei der Allgemeinbevölkerung Selbstmord.


Ö   Pubertätsblocker (wie Lupron) und geschlechtsübergreifende Hormone (Östrogen bei Jungen und Testosteron bei Mädchen) haben langfristige und schädliche Auswirkungen auf Entwicklung, Gesundheit und Wohlbefinden. Medizinische Anbieter und pharmazeutische Unternehmen versäumen es, diese bekannten Nebenwirkungen aus finanziellen Gründen zu kommunizieren oder zu minimieren.

Ö   Die Nebenwirkungen und möglichen negativen Folgen einer Störung des endokrinen Systems eines gesunden Kindes sind möglicherweise so katastrophal, dass es unwahrscheinlich ist, dass ein Forscher die Genehmigung erhalten könnte, die Wirksamkeit von Pubertätsblockern und geschlechtsübergreifenden Hormonen bei Kindern mit Geschlechtsdysphorie zu untersuchen.  

Ö   Dr. Robert Garofalo vom Zentrum für Transgender und Sexualität am Lurie Children's Hospital in Chicago sagt: „Wir wissen nichts über einige der Langzeitfolgen dieser Medikamente. Wenn Sie sich unsere Einwilligungsformulare ansehen, sind sie voller schwammiger Sprache und mögen, könnten. Wir wissen sehr wenig über Dinge, die für Familien wirklich wichtig sind, wie Fruchtbarkeit, Krebspotenzial oder onkologisches Potenzial dieser Wirkstoffe, Herzrisiko.“

Ö   Dr. Kevin Stuart, geschäftsführender Direktor des Austin Institute for the Study of Family & Culture, berichtet: „Mehrere Studien haben gezeigt, dass die Suizidalität bei denjenigen, die den Übergang vollziehen, auf lange Sicht zunimmt, nicht abnimmt.“

Ö   Eines der Kennzeichen guter Forschung ist, dass die Teilnehmer zufällig ausgewählt werden. In allzu vielen Studien, die von Transgender-Aktivisten präsentiert werden, werden die Teilnehmer auf eine Weise rekrutiert, die systematisch auf diejenigen abzielt, die mit den von den Aktivisten angestrebten Ergebnissen einverstanden sind.  Sie kontaktieren LGBTQ-Gruppen und fragen nach Teilnehmern oder posten online in LGBTQ-Foren. Die Ergebnisse von Studien, bei denen die Teilnehmer selbst ausgewählt wurden, sind verzerrt.

Ö   Loss to Follow-up ist ein Begriff, der verwendet wird, um die Situation zu beschreiben, wenn eine Studie Teilnehmer verliert. Wenn beispielsweise eine Studie mit 100 Teilnehmern begann, aber mit fünfzig endete, wäre das ein erheblicher Verlust. Jeder Follow-up-Verlust kann die Ergebnisse einer Studie beeinträchtigen, aber je höher der Verlust, desto mehr Ergebnisse müssen in Frage gestellt werden.  Alles, was über 20 % liegt, gefährdet ernsthaft die Validität. Die hohen Verlustquoten bei der Weiterverfolgung in vielen der von Transgender-Aktivisten zitierten Studien sind schockierend. Zum Beispiel hatte die Studie von Rehman einen Verlust von 40,4 % bei der Nachverfolgung.  Ruppins Studie hatte 49,3 % Loss to Follow-up.  Während Pimenoff 56,7 % hatte  und van der Sluis verlor mit 62,5 % mehr als die Hälfte.  Lindqvis verzeichnete einen schockierenden Verlust von 69,5 % im Follow-up.**

 

  • Menschen, die an geschlechtsspezifischer Dysphorie leiden – einschließlich Menschen im Autismus-Spektrum, Menschen, die zuvor ein Trauma/Missbrauch erlitten haben, Menschen mit komorbiden Störungen wie Depressionen, Menschen, die durch die Übersättigung mit Pornografie pathologisiert wurden, und Männer, die Autogynophile sind – verdienen Mitgefühl, und es sollten angemessene und ethische Dienstleistungen für die geistige und körperliche Gesundheit bereitgestellt werden, um ihre Ganzheit und Heilung wiederherzustellen.
     

  • Sexualität und Geschlechtsidentität sind keine angeborenen, feststehenden Merkmale, sondern höchstwahrscheinlich eine Kombination aus angeborenen Neigungen (Natur) und Umwelteinflüssen und -erfahrungen (Nurture). Angesichts der Anzahl von Menschen, die später im Leben eine Änderung ihrer sexuellen Präferenz oder Geschlechtsidentität angenommen haben oder die unerwünschte sexuelle Anziehung oder Geschlechtsidentifikation nach einer geeigneten Therapie erfolgreich aufgegeben haben, glaubt Advocates, dass Anziehung und Selbstidentifikation sich im Laufe des Lebens ändern können und dies auch tun Lebenszeit.

**  

Rehman J., Lazer S., Benet AE, Schaefer LC, Melman A. Die gemeldeten Sex- und Operationszufriedenheiten von 28 postoperativen transsexuellen Patienten von Mann zu Frau. Arch-Sex-Verhalten. 1999 Feb;28(1):71-89. doi: 10.1023/a:1018745706354. PMID: 10097806.  

 

Ruppin U, Pfäfflin F. Langzeitnachsorge von Erwachsenen mit Geschlechtsidentitätsstörung. Arch-Sex-Verhalten. 2015 Jul;44(5):1321-9. doi: 10.1007/s10508-014-0453-5. Epub 18. Februar 2015. PMID: 25690443.

 

Veronica Pimenoff & Friedemann Pfäfflin (2011) Transsexualität: Behandlungsergebnis von konformen und nicht konformen Patienten, International Journal of Transgenderism, 13:1, 37-44, DOI: 10.1080/15532739.2011.618399
 

bottom of page

Who We Are
Erin Brewer

Erin Brewer

Erin Brewer is co-founder of Advocates Protecting Children & the Compassion Coalition; as well as (formerly) Partners for Ethical Care. She holds a PhD in instructional technology, and is a former "trans kid" who was helped back to reality by good cognitive therapy, which is today being banned for children. She lives in Logan, Utah (USA).

Mae

Mae

Mae is a co-founder of Advocates Protecting Children & (formerly) Partners for Ethical Care. She has taught for over 20 years, age groups ranging from three-year-olds to high school seniors. Though retired, she continues to teach as a volunteer tutoring low-income children. After personally witnessing the harms caused by ideologically-based medical practices, she decided to extend her volunteer efforts to help others who have also suffered from these interventions.

Maria Keffler

Maria Keffler

Maria Keffler is a co-founder of Advocates Protecting Children, and (formerly) Partners for Ethical Care and the Arlington Parent Coalition (Virginia). An author, speaker, and teacher with a background in educational psychology, Ms. Keffler has fought to support families and protect children from unethical activism and dangerous policies around sexuality and transgender ideology since 2018. She lives in Arlington, Virginia (USA).

Advocates Protecting Children (hereafter “Advocates”) is a non-profit (501c3) organization dedicated to fighting the gender industry, and especially its predation on children in the form of unethical social and medical transition for the sake of political and financial profit. We serve and support churches, schools, organizations, families, and individuals who seek facts and guidance on responding to gender ideology and activism.

The Advocates Protecting Children team are moms and teachers. We have eight children ranging in age from 14 to 32, and we just welcomed our first grandchild to the Advocates family! We are practicing Anglican, Methodist, and non-denominational Christians. We hold B.A. degrees in education, professional writing, and communication, and a B.S. in cognitive science; M.S. degrees in education and educational psychology; and a Ph.D. in instructional technology and learning science.  Collectively we have over 70 years of teaching experience ranging from preschool through adult instruction, from homeschool to private school to public school, and we share 80 years worth of parenting experience.

We believe:
 

  • There is no such thing as “true trans,” and specifically there is no such thing as a transgender child. People who struggle with their sense of personal sex identification suffer from gender dysphoria, formerly called gender identity disorder in the DSM-V, prior to political activists’ pressure on the medical establishment to de-pathologize and normalize what is inherently a psychological condition.
     

  • Sex is binary; it is neither tertiary nor on a continuum. Human beings are categorized as females or males based upon their chromosomes, reproductive function, sex gametes, and secondary sexual characteristics such as genitalia. No third type of sexed person is necessary for reproduction, nor does it exist.
     

  • Intersex people, or those who have a disorder of sexual development, comprise a very tiny percentage of the population and are neither representative nor proof of sex or gender diversity, nor a continuum of sex or gender. Disorders of sexual development are, as stated in their name, disorders, akin to other conditions wherein something went awry in development, such as cystic fibrosis, physical birth defects, Down syndrome, etc.
     

  • Terms such as “transphobe,” “TERF,” and “truscum” are abusive words, and are slurs used to silence and malign anyone who dissents from gender ideology’s tenets. We do not use these terms, or others like them, nor do we endorse those who do.
     

  • The term gender is meaningless, and until the unethical, abusive, and long discredited psychologist John Money first applied it to people in the 1960’s, gender belonged only to the field of linguistics. Whereas gender came to be used synonymously with sex on documentation like birth certificates and drivers’ licenses, gender has today become redefined as one’s inner sense of sex (maleness/femaleness). Advocates understands that what the gender industry refers to as gender is better identified as personality, which is individual and personal, and bears no relation to nor subservience to one’s physical sex.
     

  • Gender ideology is based entirely upon regressive sex-role stereotypes, such as “Boys play with trucks,” and “Girls like pink.” In the past, children were taught, for example, that if one is a boy, he must like and play sports, and if one is a girl, she must like to cook and play house. Today the gender industry has flipped this already unacceptable pigeon-holing, and created an even worse situation. Now children are told that if a girl likes and plays sports, she must actually be a boy inside, and if a boy likes to cook and play house, he is actually a girl who was born in a boy’s body. Advocates does not agree with these kinds of labels. Likewise, we do not give high value to the term gender-non-conforming because it assumes that certain attributes and preferences exist which are representative of females and others which are representative of males. We prefer to see all people given the freedom to express themselves and their talents/preferences irrespective of their sex category.
     

  • “Conversion Therapy" bans are misnamed for the purpose of deceiving legislators and the public. These bans prevent therapists and caregivers from doing anything except agreeing with a gender dysphoric person’s wrong belief that they were “born in the wrong body,” and pressing them into medicalization. There should not be only one treatment permitted for every single person who suffers from gender dysphoria. Each person is an individual and should be given the care and therapy that is most appropriate for him or her, including but not limited to talk and behavioral therapies.
     

  • Accurate sex categorization is paramount for appropriate medical treatment, to preserve the rights and protections of women and girls, and for the collection of meaningful demographic data. Self-identification of transgender status is unethical, dangerous, and must be stopped.
     

  • Science and research support a gender-critical stance on gender ideology.
     

o    The World Professional Association on Transgender Health agrees that research shows that 74-92% of children will align with their birth sex if allowed to pass through puberty naturally.


o    A 30-year longitudinal study out of Sweden, one of the most LGB- & TQ-friendly countries in the world, reveals that individual’s wellness post-sex-transition is abysmal, with subjects being 19 times more likely than the general population to commit suicide.


o    Puberty blockers (such as Lupron) and cross-sex hormones (estrogen given to boys and testosterone given to girls) have long-term and harmful effects on development, health, and well-being. Medical providers and pharmaceutical companies are failing to communicate or minimizing these well-known side-effects for the sake of financial gain.

o    The side-effects and potential negative outcomes of interfering with a healthy child’s endocrine system are potentially so catastrophic, it is unlikely that any researcher could get approval to study the efficacy of puberty-blockers and cross-sex hormones on children with gender dysphoria. 

o    Dr. Robert Garofalo from the Center For Transgender and Sexuality at Lurie Children’s Hospital in Chicago says “We don't know with regard to some of the long-term consequences of these medications. If you look at our consent forms, there are fraught with like vague language and like may, could. We know very little about things that are really important to families like fertility, like cancer potential or oncologic potential of these agents, cardiac risk.”

o    Dr. Kevin Stuart, executive director of the Austin Institute for the Study of Family & Culture reports, “multiple studies have shown that over the long run, those who transition have increased rates of suicidality, not decreased.”

o    One of the hallmarks of good research is that participants are randomly selected. In all too many studies presented by transgender activists, participants are recruited in ways that systematically target those who are sympathetic to the results the activists are seeking.  They contact LGBTQ groups and ask for participants or post in LGBTQ forums online. Results from any study where the participants are self-selected are biased.

o    Loss to follow-up is a term used to describe the situation when a study losses participants. For example, if a study started out with 100 participants but ended up with 50, that would be a significant loss. Any loss to follow-up can compromise results of a study, however the higher the loss, the more results need to be questioned.  Anything higher than 20% poses serious threats to validity. The high rates of loss to follow-up in many of the studies cited by transgender activists is shocking. For example Rehman’s study had 40.4% loss to follow-up.  Ruppin’s study had 49.3% loss to follow-up, while Pimenoff had 56.7%  and van der Sluis lost more than half at 62.5%.  Lindqvis had a shocking 69.5% loss to follow-up.**

 

  • People who suffer from gender dysphoria—including those on the autism spectrum, people who have suffered prior trauma/abuse, those with comorbid disorders such as depression, those who have been pathologized by saturation with pornography, and men who are autogynephiles—deserve compassion, and should be provided adequate and ethical mental and physical health services in order to restore them to wholeness and healing.
     

  • Sexuality and gender identity are not innate, fixed traits, but are most likely a combination of inborn tendencies (nature) and environmental effects and experiences (nurture). Given the numbers of people who have adopted a change in sexual preference or gender identity later in life, or who have successfully given up unwanted sexual attractions or gender identification following appropriate therapy, Advocates believes that attractions and self-identifications can and do change throughout one’s lifetime.

** 

Rehman J, Lazer S, Benet AE, Schaefer LC, Melman A. The reported sex and surgery satisfactions of 28 postoperative male-to-female transsexual patients. Arch Sex Behav. 1999 Feb;28(1):71-89. doi: 10.1023/a:1018745706354. PMID: 10097806. 

 

Ruppin U, Pfäfflin F. Long-Term Follow-Up of Adults with Gender Identity Disorder. Arch Sex Behav. 2015 Jul;44(5):1321-9. doi: 10.1007/s10508-014-0453-5. Epub 2015 Feb 18. PMID: 25690443.

 

Veronica Pimenoff & Friedemann Pfäfflin (2011) Transsexualism: Treatment Outcome of Compliant and Noncompliant Patients, International Journal of Transgenderism, 13:1, 37-44, DOI: 10.1080/15532739.2011.618399